Graemere Hotel

Graemere postcard

The Graemere Hotel was a West Side landmark. Located on the northeast corner of Homan Avenue and Washington Boulevard, across from Garfield Park, the building was designed by Walter W. Ahlschlager. The architect specialized in large residential hotels. Among his other Chicago works were the Webster, the Parkway, the Sovereign, and the Sheridan Plaza.

The Graemere opened in 1923.  The hotel soon became a favorite venue for weddings, bar mitzvahs, and other social gatherings. Wealthy people who enjoyed the convenience of hotel living became permanent residents. The most prominent of these was longtime West Side congressman Adolph Sabath.

Graemere Hotel (1975)

The East Garfield Park neighborhood declined in the decade after World War II. By the time I took the 1975 photo the Graemere had been vacant for years. Plans to convert the hotel to low-income housing never became reality, and the building was demolished in 1977.

—30—

 

18 Responses to “Graemere Hotel”


  1. 1 Bonnie Mangan October 10, 2016 at 6:38 pm

    A relative worked as a hostess at the Graemere Hotel in 1940. She died that year on her way home to see her folks. Her name was Helen Lucille Butcher. Would love to know something about her at that time.

    • 2 k chirafisi March 10, 2022 at 11:12 pm

      I remember someone named Lucille but I think her name was Lucille Spain. She worked w/my mother and I think she was the hostess to the Emerald Room and came to some parties my mother gave. She was very elegant. My mother’s name was Sue Bregi.

    • 3 Roxanne Konrath April 28, 2024 at 12:38 pm

      Bonnie: my dad, Bill Rapson, worked at the Graemere Hotel in the late 30’s, early 40’s. I have a picture of 3 female coworkers of his if you’d like to see it. Their names are not listed.

  2. 4 Jerome DeCercq April 22, 2018 at 2:04 pm

    I worked at the Graemere part time when I was in school, as elevator operator, in the fifites. There was a Senator and his family who resided in the penthouse. I was able to get my sister working there as hat check gal during those busy events in the main room. Was sad to see the demise of such a grand structure.

  3. 6 Jerome DeCercq April 22, 2018 at 2:31 pm

    I have in my possession an unused face towel with the “Graemere Hotel” embroidered name.

  4. 7 wetges May 24, 2019 at 1:34 pm

    My great-grandparents lived there, James and Marie Storkan. We visited them in the early 1960s when our family visited Chicago from Cincinnati. He had purchased a summer home in Crystal Lake that stayed in the family for many years.

  5. 8 Jim Van New Kirk June 1, 2019 at 9:57 pm

    My grandfather’s band, Jack Tatner and The Song Weavers use to pay there and broadcasts their coast to coast radio show on ABC from there in the late 40s, early 50s. I still have some of the promo cards.

  6. 9 Nick Radosta November 15, 2019 at 11:54 pm

    My Husband and I had our wedding Breakfast and also our wedding reception at the Graemere in 1958. So sorry when it was demolished.

  7. 10 Roxanne Konrath March 25, 2020 at 7:23 pm

    My dad worked at the Graemere Hotel as a bartender when he was a young man, in 1939, and was first married. He told me many times about the movie stars who came there to entertain, and the wealthy patrons who frequented the hotel bar.

    • 11 J.R. Schmidt March 25, 2020 at 9:18 pm

      Here’s a coincidence. Earlier today I was paging thru the May 1954 issue of the original Chicago magazine, and came across an ad for the Graemere. The copy refers to the Graemere as “Chicago’s Friendliest Hotel,” and says that it is known for “charm cuisine and courteous service.”
      –JRS

  8. 12 Ross Gerami July 3, 2020 at 3:59 pm

    We where married at Graemere June 4,1960 it was a beautiful hotel sorry to see its gone. Dinner was $7.50 per person for wedding party. Any other pics?

  9. 13 Terry August 29, 2020 at 12:16 am

    My parents married at the Graemere in 1950 and my aunt and uncle married there in 1956. They said it was beautiful. Thanks for including this on your site.

  10. 14 Linda February 10, 2021 at 6:15 pm

    Hi Everyone I am trying to locate the what I thought was a hotel at Lake and Homen 1968 1969. Across from the park. There was a bar on the corner. I lived there with my mother when I was a child. I am wondering if there was a building that housed people.Or was it this hotel ?

  11. 15 Ruth Monte October 7, 2021 at 11:51 am

    My Mom and Dad celebrated there wedding at the hotel in December of 1935 looking for info of any kind that might be available about wedding and hotel last names Mom” Sraffa” or Dad last Name “Sarn” Mr. and Mrs. James R. Sarn December 7/1935 they always talked about the beautiful wedding reception at the hotel but alas we have no record of any kind for our family tree records can someone help with this info I would appreciate any info at all . thank you

    • 16 J.R. Schmidt October 7, 2021 at 1:00 pm

      “The Garfieldian” was a community newspaper published in the area around that time. The Chicago Public Library, the Chicago History Museum, or the Library of Congress might have copies available online. You could also check various old newspaper sites, for a fee.
      –JRS

  12. 17 Lorie Shuck February 10, 2022 at 11:12 pm

    Sears put my family up at the Gremere Hotel when they transferred us from Kansas City, Missouri in 1956. I remember sitting in the bar with my family and watching Elvis sing Hound Dog on the Ed Sullivan show.

  13. 18 Will Jones September 7, 2023 at 2:00 pm

    Does anyone remember the “show lounge” here…I think it was named “The Glass House”???…I worked for Personal Finance Co,, located at 24 N Pulaski Rd…I recall a connection with the park district police dept, which had an office in the Garfield Park building….we were set up at a party room, which may have been The Glass House…ANYONE?


Leave a comment