Then and Now, Clark-Superior

1937--Clark Street @ Chicago, view south

1937–Clark Street @ Superior Street, view south

2015--the same location

2014–the same location

We are on Clark Street, just south of Chicago Avenue. In 1937 this stretch of Clark was a busy commercial strip, though far from fashionable, as evidenced by the two pawnshop visible in the photo. Many of the buildings here dated from the years just after the Great Fire of 1871

Today nearly all the buildings from the 1937 photo have been replaced, and the old Hotel Wacker has been upgraded into the Hotel Felix. Clark Street has become more upscale, while continuing to be vibrant–though not at 8 a.m. on a Sunday morning, when I took the picture!

—30—

15 Responses to “Then and Now, Clark-Superior”


  1. 1 mkstichauf February 26, 2015 at 2:55 am

    Hi John. I just got an email letting me know your next blog was out. So, I opened up the email and clicked, “Read more of this post”, which is how I’ve always accessed your posts. Again, it brought me to the same thing, about a 1.5 inch strip, running the full length of the page. Next, I went back to the email and closed it and then reopened it and clicked on, “Then and Now, Clark and Superior” and got the same thing. I tried one other thing and that was to go to the bottom of the email and right above the word, “Comments”, it gives you a link to your URL and clicked that with the same results. If I’m the only one who is having these problems, it MUST be on my end so I’ll continue to try to figure this out. I just love the blog so I’ll find a way to get to the correct viewing of it.
    I’m linked to the site through your email subscriber service but I’m linked to a couple of other blogs in the same way and have no problems. If you have any more suggestions let me know but otherwise I’ll figure it out soon. Thanks for getting back to me. Michael.

    • 2 J.R. Schmidt February 26, 2015 at 7:38 am

      Michael–
      This has me stumped, too. I’ve had close to a dozen people tell me that they have no problems accessing the blog. I agree that the difficulty must be on your end–yet you’re still getting things from other sites in the correct format. Since I don’t have any expertise to advise you what to do, I can only thank you for continuing to read my blog. But when you do solve the problem, please let me know.
      Best,
      JRS

      • 3 mkstichauf February 26, 2015 at 10:39 am

        Thanks for both you guys responding to this problem. I really feel stupid taking up peoples time with something like this. Yet, I write two blogs myself, and I’d be pissed off if someone told me that they couldn’t see my blog in the regular fashion. I’ll check my browser version to see if that’s the problem.

  2. 4 mkstichauf February 26, 2015 at 3:03 am

    Wow, John, I just decided to try to access your blog by doing a search through “Bing”. It gave me a bunch of choices but the first one was, “https://chicagohistorytoday.wordpress.com”. EVEN when I clicked that one, I got the same thing!!! I can’t figure it out.

  3. 5 benson February 26, 2015 at 9:04 am

    Totally stumped on this problem. Evidence seems to point to your browser, but not necessarily. If you’re on a fairly recent version of your browser, then I have no clue.

    John, a question regarding the 1937 picture. In the far left background, there is a very tall building, that appears to be gone in the current picture. What building was that, and what happened to it?

    • 6 J.R. Schmidt February 26, 2015 at 11:34 am

      Are you talking about the building with the steeple, the Chicago Temple?
      –JRS

      • 7 Garry February 26, 2015 at 5:19 pm

        I believe that picture shown is the Chicago Temple, with the Morrison Hotel behind it.
        The Morrison was the tallest building ever demolished until the Singer Building in NYC was demolished a few years later. Singer was 80′ taller.

  4. 8 benson February 26, 2015 at 11:50 am

    I guess I’m referring to the building at the end of the street, sort of covered in clouds/haze, on the left hand side (east) of the street, looking south. Maybe it’s just the angle of the new photo, but it doesn’t appear to still be there. It looks a little like the Hancock, (and I know that’s impossible) though I suppose that could be a steeple in the distance.

    • 9 benson February 26, 2015 at 5:32 pm

      Okay, my bad, as my kids say. When I magnified the picture and got an up close look, there is a Temple in front of a very tall building, so Garry, thank you.

  5. 10 benson February 26, 2015 at 2:16 pm

    Michael, this is just a “hail, Mary” idea, but when you open the problem sized blog post, try “Ctrl” and “+” sign. That ought to make it larger. Browsers do have a memory for the size of text, etc. Maybe something got corrupted. (After all, this is a blog about Chicago’s history. LOL)

    • 11 mkstichauf February 26, 2015 at 7:09 pm

      benson!! benson!! DAMN YOU ARE THE BEST!!! Your “Hail Mary” call was a touchdown!! I don’t know how it happened to get reduced but all I had to do was adjust the zoom! Thanks my friend!

  6. 12 J.R. Schmidt February 26, 2015 at 7:13 pm

    Garry identifies the Morrison Hotel, and Benson solves the zoom problem. I must have the most intelligent readers in America.
    –JRS

  7. 15 benson February 27, 2015 at 8:43 am

    What a great way to start my day. Glad I could help.


Leave a Reply

