Seymour Paisin’s–A Wally Phillips Memory

Seymour Paisin

I came across this 1973 picture in my files recently, and it brought back fond memories.  While I was busy taking a picture of the CTA bus, I managed to capture the Seymour Paisin store.

Seymour Paisin sold women’s clothing at 2629 West Devon Avenue.  I don’t recall ever being in the store.  But during the 1970s, when Wally Phillips held quizzes on his WGN-radio show, one of the prizes he invariably gave away was “a designer scarf from Seymour Paisin on Devon.”

Most mornings I listened to Wally while driving to work. I won prizes at least three times–and my wife wound up with at least three different Seymour Paisin scarves.  She liked them, too.

After all these years, I remember only one of the quiz questions I successfully answered.  See how you can do–and no fair using the Internet!

QUESTION–What product was advertised with the slogan, “Ask the Man Who Owns One”?

I’m sorry that I can’t offer a prize.  I don’t have a radio show.

—30—

11 Responses to “Seymour Paisin’s–A Wally Phillips Memory”


  1. 1 Earl Moore December 11, 2013 at 12:23 am

    A Packard automobile. Love your blog!

    • 2 J.R. Schmidt December 11, 2013 at 7:33 am

      Thanks. I had an advantage on that question. When I was a kid, the man across the street had a Packard, and I always wanted one. However, I still haven’t got one!
      –JRS

  2. 3 Garry December 13, 2013 at 12:09 am

    My sister actually worked there for a while after high school.
    She was referred to as “Miss Cheryl” there.
    They were very old fashioned.

  3. 4 brian December 16, 2013 at 9:56 am

    Cool post. I love looking at google street view of the location now. Two jewelry shops occupy the bldg. The facade remains, looking unchanged.

    happy holidays John

  4. 6 John Soasom December 19, 2013 at 9:29 pm

    “i don’t have a radio show”?? i heard you on worldview.

  5. 8 Fred May 29, 2015 at 12:45 pm

    Seymour Paisin was my grandfather. I worked there until the store closed. I actually boxed and mailed the designer scarves to the WGN winners.

    • 9 J.R. Schmidt May 30, 2015 at 2:16 pm

      Fred–
      Thanks for the message—and for wrapping the scarves!
      –JRS

    • 10 susan July 14, 2015 at 10:09 pm

      My mother shopped there often. Her saleswoman was named Esther. My mother was ushered into a dressing room and Esther brought the dresses to her.

    • 11 Robin Wallin August 2, 2015 at 12:22 pm

      That was an amazing store! I only went once and bought a beautiful wool suit after college. I still have it and remember buying it in the 70’s. When did you close? Thanks


Leave a Reply

